CRA News

By Jennifer M. Leddy

Oct 2022 Charity & NFP Law Update
Published on October 27, 2022



Minister of National Revenue Announces New Members for Advisory Committee on Charitable Sector

The Honourable Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue, announced on October 26, 2022 an updated membership for the Advisory Committee on the Charitable Sector (“ACCS”) including the appointment of existing members to various roles, the addition of four new members, and the departure of three former members. The ACCS is a consultative forum for the Government of Canada “to engage in meaningful dialogue with the charitable sector, to advance emerging issues relating to charities, and to ensure the regulatory environment supports the important work that charities do” and has published three reports to date containing a range of recommendations on important issues to charities.

Effective September 1, 2022, Bruce MacDonald, President & CEO of Imagine Canada, began in the one-year role of Transitional Co-chair, while Hilary Pearson, former President of Philanthropic Foundations Canada, began in the one-year role of Past Co-chair. The intent of these roles is to ensure continuity within the ACCS.

Additionally, four new members were appointed to the Committee to join the eleven current members. These new members will commence their two-year terms on November 1, 2022, and include:

  • Althea Arsenault – Manager Resource Development, Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation, Government of New Brunswick
  • Elisabeth Baugh – former CEO, Ovarian Cancer Canada
  • Minnie Karanja – Director of Government Relations and Public Policy, Network for the Advancement of Black Communities
  • Kevin McCort – President & CEO, Vancouver Foundation (reappointed for a second term)

The three members departing the committee are as follows (their terms ended on August 31, 2022):

  • Peter Dinsdale – President & CEO, YMCA Canada
  • Arlene MacDonald – former Executive Director, Community Sector Council of Nova Scotia
  • Andrea McManus – Chief Advancement Officer, Banff Centre for Arts & Creativity and Co-Founder and Senior Counsel of ViTreo Group

Read the Month Year Charity & NFP Law Update