Nine New Sector Members to Begin Terms with ACCS
April 2022 Charity & NFP Law Update
Published on April 28 2022

By Jennifer M. Leddy

Nine new members have been appointed to the Advisory Committee on the Charitable Sector (ACCS), according to an announcement by Honourable Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue, released on April 5, 2022. As explained most recently in Charity & NFP Law Bulletin No. 502, the ACCS was established in 2019 as a consultative forum for the Government of Canada to engage in meaningful dialogue with the charitable sector, to advance emerging issues relating to charities, and to ensure the regulatory environment supports the important work that charities do.

In its first two years, the ACCS released three reports on issues and challenges facing charities, subtitled “Towards a federal regulatory environment that enables and strengthens the charitable and nonprofit sector”. They were issued in January, April and July 2021 and are discussed in greater detail in Charity & NFP Law Bulletins No. 489, No. 495, and No. 500, respectively.

The ACCS consists of 15 members from the charitable sector, as well as the Assistant Commissioner of the Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch of the CRA and one representative from each of the CRA Charities Directorate and Finance Canada. All members are appointed by the Minister of National Revenue or the Commissioner of the CRA.

As ACCS sector members serve different terms, nine sector members’ terms came to an end in 2021 and will be replaced by nine new sector members, who will begin two-year terms on May 1, 2022, joining the six current sector members, who have ongoing terms. The new members are:

  • Christian Bolduc – President & CEO, BNP Performance, LL.B, ASC, C.Dir., CFRE
  • Owen Charters – President & CEO, BGC Canada (formerly Boys & Girls Clubs)
  • Dr. Anver Emon – Canada Research Chair in Islamic Law and History, and Director of the Institute of Islamic Studies, University of Toronto
  • Sheherazade Hirji – Former Resident Representative, Aga Khan Development Network, Afghanistan
  • Jean-Marc Mangin – President & CEO, Philanthropic Foundations Canada
  • Sarah Midanik – President & CEO, The Gord Downie & Chanie Wenjack Fund (DWF)
  • Martha Rans – Founder & Legal Director, Pacific Legal Education and Outreach Society (PLEOS)
  • Tanya Rumble – Director of Development, Ryerson University
  • Bob Wyatt – Executive Director, Muttart Foundation

The ongoing sector members are:

  • Bruce MacDonald – President & CEO, Imagine Canada (sector co-chair)
  • Hilary Pearson – former President, Philanthropic Foundations Canada (sector co-chair)
  • Peter Dinsdale – President & CEO, YMCA Canada
  • Arlene MacDonald – former Executive Director, Community Sector Council of Nova Scotia
  • Kevin McCort – President & CEO, Vancouver Foundation
  • Andrea McManus – Chief Advancement Officer, Banff Centre for Arts & Creativity and Co-Founder and Senior Counsel of ViTreo Group


Read the April 2022 Charity & NFP Law Update